The NBC Boycott


If you follow me over on social media or know me in personally, I love television. I’m fascinated by the technology and mostly the programming. Scripted television for me outweighs it all. I’ve never been fond of reality television. I love this show called Community, I’m sure the vast majority of the global population by now knows of it’s existence. It’s one of my most recent favourite sitcom.

I was pretty nervous and on the edge of my seat last summer during the cancellation scare. It brought tears of joy when NBC decided to renew it for a fourth and final season. Sony who develops the show dropped Dan Harmon as the show runner. I’m on the seat and uncertain how the show will be when it comes back with new talent heading the writer’s room.

Now there was a report that the show has been delayed from its slot for its fourth season premiere originally scheduled for October 19, 2012. It has been delayed “indefinitely” and “will” return some point during the 2012-13 television season. I was hyped up about it’s return but now I’m just down right disappointed by NBC’s actions.

I’m not going to watch *any* of the NBC programming that I watch: The New NormalThe OfficeParks & Recreation, 30 RockParenthoodGo On, Animal Practice and Revolution. I was going to give Chicago Fire a try…. But…. No, not gonna do it.

The boycott will end once Community returns on television whenever that’ll be.

I’m not crazy, right? Have you boycotted a television network for the cancellation/postponement of one of your shows? I’d like to know!

7 thoughts on “The NBC Boycott

  1. I can’t believe I haven’t seen this show yet. My sister raves about it. Where is it set?

    I tend to watch shows years after they come out. I end up getting so busy, it can be tough. So I haven’t been in the position to boycott before. But I think it is a good idea, and has worked in the past…. Hope this time too!

    • You really should! Do you have a Netflix subscription? Because the first three seasons are available on it. It’s set at a community college in Greendale, Colorado. Follows a study group that doesn’t do a lot of studying. It’s a great sitomedy, I love it.

      The thing about me is I watch too much television as is. So cutting eight shows of NBC’s lineup is going to clear up space on my PVR’s hard drive! lol

  2. Oh my gosh… I do have Netflix now. I am jaded by it, generally I end up watching things I don’t like there, so I tend to assume I won’t like the other offerings. How did I miss this? Going to go start a marathon now.

    Okay, this is embarrassing… But what is a PVR?

    • I hope you enjoy Community as much as I have. 🙂

      A PVR is a personal video recorder. They call them DVRs digital video recorders in the United States. They’re the box you get from your television service provider and stores your recorded shows on.

  3. Pingback: My 2012 in review | The Anth Zone

Leave a Reply

