To Tattoo Or To Not Tattoo


I have always wanted to get a tattoo. I have heard both horror and success stories. I have always been uncertain what I’ve wanted to get and where I should get the work done. I have looked through design catalogs at various parlors. I don’t want something that everyone else has. I want something unique, something I relate to. Here are a few of my ideas what I want to get done.

  1. Captain America, HELL YEAH!

I’m a lover of comic books. I mostly collect Captain America and Batman because their so badass and stuff. I don’t want a modern version of Captain America permanently on my body forever. I want a Jack Kirby Captain America. How to make it uniquely Anth? Well to have him breaking through a brick wall Kool-Aid Man style going “Ohhh Yeah”.

Ideal location to put it? On my arm.

  1. Texameradian

Texameradian has been apart of my gaming and online persona for quite sometime. It’s a portmanteau for Texas, America and Canadian. While I’m not Texan nor American, they are my favourite places. And one day, I hope to be. I’m not quite sure what this one would look like. Perhaps I’ll give some artist the benefit of the doubt to design it for me.

Those are all I can think about. Do you have any tattoos? How was your experience? Do you recommend a parlor or even an artist? Or do you think I should get something else? 

9 thoughts on “To Tattoo Or To Not Tattoo

  1. Everyone I know has multiple tattoos, including my mother. I have no tattoos, and think they’re kind of silly, but it’s up to you; I’m obviously in the minority.

    Kimli has white in one of hers, and it blistered when she got a sunburn; the titanium or whatever it is apparently absorbs UV. Keloids can be a risk for some people. Remember that the colours will fade and become less distinct over time (so lines will become blurry).

    If you get a Captain American tattoo, won’t Disney own your skin?

    • Thank you for letting me know about the health risks involved, Banana! It’s a long ways off before I go run off to a parlor and get inked.

      Seeing as my parents have bought a ton of VHS tapes growing up. I think the Walt Disney corporation already owns me. lol

  2. I’ve always thought it would be cool to shave the back of my head and have a UPC tattooed on the back of my head. Then, let the hair grow back.

    My cousin got a penguin just below her belly button.

    Then she got pregnant, and it warped and looked really stupid.

    You should get a tattoo on your arm so you looked augmented like in deus ex. Or a maple leaf shaped like Texas.

    • Hahaha! I think you should put underneath the UPC “Product Of My Mom” in very fine print! LOL

      Yeah. You don’t want to put something on your stomach. Ideally you want it on the arm or maybe even the back.

      Hahaha that’d be a great idea too.

  3. I have multiple tattoos and my mom cried about every single one. “Tattoos aren’t for girls!” Bah!

    My best advice to you is don’t get a tattoo for the sake of getting a tattoo. It’s permanent and it’ll age just like your body. That said, if you’re set on getting tattooed, a design you love (before it’s inked) is so much better. Lots of people want to know the meaning behind a tattoo. It’s up to you whether you want to share, but it highlights the value of tattoos that actually mean something to you versus a design plucked from the pages of a tat book. Be original. Work with the artist, talk about what you like and want. They’re artists. They want to create!

    My last round of ink was done by Shannon at Foxfire Tattoos in New West. She did an amazing job. She’s someone who understands that every person’s skin is different, and that makes a world of difference.

    • Yeah, I know. I have been thinking about getting a tattoo on and off for a couple of years but I haven’t been fully sure what I’ve truly wanted.

      A friend of Twitter said I should get a tattoo of Emmadale. I think it would be pretty cool to get an Airedale Terrier tattoo and not label it with a name. I have had three dogs of this breed and have loved and every single one of them. Not to mention she’s pretty close to my heart.

      Thank you for the recommendation Cheeks!

  4. Sorry to be so behind in reading. I form keloids so a permanent tattoo is not in my game plan. I think having an Airedale Terrier tattoo is very much you.

  5. Pingback: My 2012 in review | The Anth Zone

Leave a Reply

